Recognition – University of Nebraska

Recognition – University of Nebraska

Heart and Soul Award

Formerly known as the Gerard Life Skills Award of Excellence, the Heart and Soul Award is presented annually at A Night at the Lied to Nebraska student-athletes who have consistently gone above and beyond with community service and outreach initiatives throughout their college career. Dubbed the “Heisman of Life Skills,” each recipient must be a senior student-athlete who is in their final season of athletic eligibility. Honorees are determined by Life Skills and Academic Support staff as well as coaches.

2024 – Sadio Fenner (Men’s Cross Country; Track & Field); Lindsey Thiele (Women’s Golf)

2023 – Nicklin Hames (Volleyball); Mikey Hoffer (Men’s Track & Field); Passmore Mudundulu (Men’s Track & Field); Megan Whittaker (Women’s Golf)

2022 – Cassidy Ray (Bowling), Karlee Seevers (Softball), Ben Stille (Football)

2021 –  Emily Cheramie (Rifle), Kaitlynn Johnson (Women’s Cross Country), Kate Smith (Women’s Golf), Emma Worley (Women’s Tennis)

2020 – Kayla Gadeken (Rifle), Sierra Hassel (Women’s Gymnastics), David Jensen (Wrestling), Sinclaire Miramontez (Soccer), Haley Thiele (Women’s Golf)

2019 –  Freedom Akinmoladun (Football), Bri Cassidy (Softball), Tanner Farmer (Football), Jerald Foster (Football), Jackie Jeschke (Swimming and Diving), Catelyn Orel (Women’s Gymnastics), Nina Radulovic (Rifle) and Aris Shino (Wrestling).

2018 – Connor Adamsick (Men’s Gymnastics) Danielle Breen (Women’s Gymnastics) Jake McSteen (Baseball) Gina Metzler (Softball) Erin Oeltjen (Swimming & Diving) Alli Peterson (Soccer) Katt Sickle (Swimming & Diving)

2017 – Trey Foster (Football); Collin Jensen (Wrestling); Jennie Laeng (Women’s Gymnastics)

2016 – Mattie Fowler (Softball), Levi Gipson (Men’s Track & Field), Ethan Lottman (Men’s Gymnastics), and Nate Wong, (Men’s Golf)

2015 – Samantha Areman (Soccer); Devandrew Johnson (Men’s Track & Field); Rebekah Land (Swimming & Diving); Ian Ousley (Wrestling); Desire’ Stephens (Gymnastics)

2014 – Amanda Burau (Bowling); Caleb Kolb (Wrestling); Sunny Russell (Rifle); and CJ Zimmerer (Football)

2013 – Ben Cotton (Football); Kelsey Larson (Swimming & Diving); and Mary Weatherholt (Women’s Tennis)

2012 – Ashley Guile (Softball)

2011 – Jordan Burroughs (Wrestling); Erin Hannon (Women’s Track & Field); and Alex Henery (Football)

2010 – Blake Lawrence (Football)

2009 – Betsy Miller (Women’s Cross Country; Track & Field)

2008 – Matt Senske (Football)

Read More